Corn-Jalapeño Fritters

Crispy with a tiny kick of spice, these Corn-Jalapeño Fritters make for the best simple summer or fall appetizer! In less than 30 minutes you’ll have a batch of golden crisp corn fritters seasoned with spices and a hint of spicy. Serve these fun summer bites with a creamy chipotle honey aioli to balance out the heat. The best, totally addicting, summer appetizer that will be equally great for upcoming fall game days. My fiance approved of this recipe by the way! He’s picky, so that’s how you know it’s good!

I’ve made these fritters once before when I was younger, and they were amazing! At that point, I wasn’t huge on spicy so I didn’t add the jalapeños. I think I added chives…not sure. Either way, these fritters are so delicious that sometimes I need to make more than one batch! The sweet and the spicy make a beautiful couple when put together. It’s a marriage of flavors that just goes so well with one another. There’s no greater combination! The batter is made up of flour, eggs, baking powder, and milk. Seasonings can be varied depending on what you like, but I used my home seasonings such as salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder. I decided to spice it up with some paprika and chili powder. I added some mozzarella to the fritters for the first time. It was a VERY good idea! This recipe, along with my Spinach Brownies (Recipe in the near future!) are my best recipes and most requested from family and friends.

What can I dip these fried goodies in?

Anything! Well, maybe not anything, but there are a few good dips that I recommend for this! You can go with a Chipotle Honey Aioli, a Garlic-Parsley sauce, Ranch Dressing, Blue Cheese Dressing, Buffalo Sauce, Sriracha-Horseradish Sauce, etc.

Can I add more ingredients to these fritters?

The more, the merrier! Go nuts, but not too nuts. You can add cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella. Add some crispy bacon. Chop up some bell peppers and mix them in. There’s so much you can do! You can add fresh herbs or different spices. You can even add some precooked lobster to the fritters. Maybe even some chicken. Endless possibilities in one little fritter!

Fritters Facts:

  • Can you use canned corn to make corn fritters? Absolutely, you can! Just make sure to drain the corn really well and dry in paper towels. I suggest taking the time to cut the corn off of a cob because the corn justs has a better texture versus canned corn. Or, you can use frozen corn just like I did. Just make sure it’s completely thawed and patted dry. The batter will be thick, just not pancake batter thick. I used 1/4 cup measure for each fritter. I shaped the fritters in my hand, placed in the dutch oven filled with hot canola oil to fry like a deep fryer.
  • What other types of fritters are there can be a fritter? There’s a lot of good fritter recipes out there, however each one varies from the other. Here’s a few of them!
    • Apple Fritters
    • Zucchini Fritters
    • Hushpuppies (cornmeal fritters)
    • Cauliflower Fritters
    • Banana Fritters
    • Peach Fritters
    • and many more!

Want the recipe? Click print below! Let me know how it came out for you by tagging me on Instagram (@missravenskitchen) and using #missravenskitchen! Let me know if I need to tweak anything.

Corn & Jalapeno Fritters`
Yield
18-20 fritters
Author
Dani Marcus
Prep time
5 Min
Cook time
20 Min
Total time
25 Min
Print

Corn & Jalapeno Fritters`

Crispy with a tiny kick of spice, these Corn-Jalapeño Fritters make for the best simple summer or fall appetizer! In less than 30 minutes you’ll have a batch of golden crisp corn fritters seasoned with spices and a hint of spicy. The best, totally addicting, summer appetizer that will be equally great for upcoming fall game days.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 tbsp butter, melted
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 tbsp ground black pepper
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • 3 tsp garlic powder
  • 3 tsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 1 medium onion, diced finely
  • 10 oz sweet corn
  • 1/2 cup jalapenos, pickled or fresh
  • 3/4 cup shredded mozzarella

Instructions

  1. In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt.
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs, butter, and milk. Add slowly to the dry ingredients, whisking to combine together until the mixture is smooth and thick.
  3. Add the remaining ingredients then stir to combine.
  4. In a Dutch oven, pour about 6 cups of canola oil and heat on medium-high heat until the oil is hot. Using a 1/4 cup at a time, add the mixture to the oil and fry for about 3-5 minutes, flipping once if the fritter is not completely submerged with oil to ensure it is fried.
  5. Continue making fritters with the remaining batter and serve. Add more oil if you need to during the frying process.

Nutrition Facts

Calories

105.18

Fat (grams)

4.69

Sat. Fat (grams)

2.53

Carbs (grams)

12.87

Fiber (grams)

1.19

Net carbs

11.68

Sugar (grams)

1.97

Protein (grams)

3.78

Sodium (milligrams)

487.33

Cholesterol (grams)

31.14

Please let me know if these are not correct. I did my best to research!

Did you make this recipe?
Tag @missravenskitchen on instagram and hashtag it #missravenskitchen

Check out these other great recipes!

One response to “Corn-Jalapeño Fritters”

  1. …looks good to me! Love fritters

    On Sat, Nov 13, 2021 at 9:54 PM Miss Raven’s Kitchen wrote:

    > missravenskitchen posted: ” Jump to Recipe Crispy with a tiny kick of > spice, these Corn-Jalapeño Fritters make for the best simple summer or fall > appetizer! In less than 30 minutes you’ll have a batch of golden crisp corn > fritters seasoned with spices a” >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.